Brotherhood Gatsby

the-night-before-poster

So its almost that time of year and we got another xmas themed slightly raunchy comedy.  I watch this solely for the fact that I didn’t need to think for this and this review probably will reflect that.

First off, there isn’t much new here except for probably Michael Shannon being amazingly awesome and the cameos are pretty good.  I lied, that’s not an exception because usually the cameos are the best thing about these types of movies.

Secondly, there a hint of chemistry between the three leads and I appreciate what they’re trying to go for.  Though, in all seriousness, I can’t wait to see an Asian cast in one of these roles. Hell, there could have been easily 4 dudes instead of 3. So please, one day, Asian actor please. And just have him being Asian and treat him like a normal American and don’t flood us with Asian stereotypical jokes. On the topic of chemistry, I actually enjoyed what each brought to the table.  Seth had family + drug issues, JSL had girl issues and Mackie had fame issues.  I think this made it much more interesting compare to say if all three of them were high cause that would just be a rehash of things we seen before.  So plus for premise? I don’t know.

Lastly, I don’t really have much to say.  The cameos were pretty good.  Though I wouldn’t say its worth the price of admission.  Check it out when its out on DVD at a friends’ house or something.

 

Leave a Reply

